Dewey’s Read-a-thon Hour 2

Hubby was supposed to go outrigger canoeing today, so I figure I would kick him out the door at 7:30am, then have breakfast and be all ready at the start line. But he came back at 7:45, saying that he forgot his paddle, and when he came back for it it’s too late for him to make it in time, the group would have left the shore already. So he decided to brew some coffee and had some leisurely breakfast, then seeing the rain outside, felt rather smug that he did not go out after all. Anyway, with preparing for breakfast and all that, ended up I didn’t get down to read till just now.

ETA: I just dug up my post in April so I can copy the template, and guess what I said 6 months ago?

My hubby was planning to go canoeing today while I stay home, and now he’s stuck at home with me! (because it was raining)

First, the Introductory Questionnaire:

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?
I’m in Florida, USA.

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?
I don’t have a stack this time around – usually I do, but as I have a busy day today, work and volunteering at the library, there won’t be much reading time at all.

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?
I scream ice cream!

4) Tell us a little something about yourself!
I like to read non-fiction, Asian literature, travelogue and microhistories. In case you think I am a snobby reader, I also love manga and a bit of fantasy.

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?
I really wish I could get the day off and have more time reading. : ( But schedule won’t work out this time around…

Time: 9:39am

Currently Reading:

Big Breasts and Wide Hips

Selecting this because Mo Yan just won the Nobel Literary Prize. I haven’t gone far, just read the introduction, where it says that Mo Yan himself has said, “If you like, you can skip my other novels, but you must read Big Breasts and Wide Hips. In it I wrote about history, war, politics, hunger, religion, love and sex.”

When I heard the news, I thought it would be a great idea to read this in the RAT, but I did have second thoughts when I took the book off my shelf. It was a hefty 532 pages. Usually I like thinner volumes for RAT as it gave me a sense of satisfaction.

Reading Location:In living room by the computer.

Total Pages read so far: 14

Total Time spent reading so far: 15 min
9:15am – 9:30pm Big Breasts and Wide Hips: pg 1-14 (introduction)

Other Readers I have visited:

Jessica @ Books: A true story
shaunesay
Elsi
Karine

Books I have munched on:

Books I have finished:

Published in: on October 13, 2012 at 9:56 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://azukibc.wordpress.com/2012/10/13/deweys-read-a-thon-hour-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Woo Hoo and good luck on your reading today.

  2. Seems like a conspiracy 🙂


Leave a Reply

