Olympics Read-a-thon

My friend just tipped me off that Random House of Canada is organizing an Olympic Read-a-thon.

There are so many read-a-thons nowadays it has lost some of its allure – after all, if you are joining a read-a-thon week after week, you are just basically reading at your normal speed. A faster speed maybe, but that is your new norm. However, Olympic read-a-thon, the idea of a very non-athletic bookworm somehow being part of the Olympic, pushing myself to a goal the same way the Olympians strive their best, appeals to me. Hey, they may be sweating blood, their hearts pump to the brink of collapse, while I sit comfortably (well, it does get a bit uncomfortable after a few hours…) on my sofa, munching snacks, exerting nothing more than my eye and thumb muscles. But I am participating in something of a “thon” that requires endurance, hardship, sacrifice, a will of iron and perseverance, nonetheless. It’s watching the athletes on TV and know that there is a small link between them and me. I can be on the edge of collapse too, pushing myself, just one more, one more little page… I can make it…

So yes, the summer of Olympics! Push yourself to a new height! Stretch yourself, to reach the summit of Mt TBR!

Published in: on July 23, 2012 at 10:52 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://azukibc.wordpress.com/2012/07/23/olympic-read-a-thon/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Interesting observation:
    > There are so many read-a-thons nowadays it has
    > lost some of its allure – after all, if you are joining a
    > read-a-thon week after week, you are just basically
    > reading at your normal speed. A faster speed maybe,
    > but that is your new norm.

    Ah. For most read-a-thons, I don’t see them as a challenge to read more/longer than normal. Rather I like the fact that they focus on a community aspect — in particular, the recording (and bragging) about what we’re reading. Prior to read-a-thons, my reading blog was basically a place where I listed the books that I had read. Now, I’m posting about the read-a-thons. I still am not comfortable writing and posting reviews, but there is a bit more activity on my blog.

    Additionally, I’m enjoying the occasional challenges and the chatting that takes place on twitter. However, I’m doing 2 other read-a-thons in August in addition to the Olympic Read-a-thon — Summer Wrap-up Read-a-Thon and Bout of Books 5.0. I may be burned out on read-a-thons by the end of the month.


Leave a Reply

