Read-A-Thon 16

Okay hubby is sleeping. All alone in the dark with a reading light. : D I find my reading pace a bit slower than I’d like. Need to turn it up a notch. Looks like I am missing out on all the mini challenges and memes. I’ve wanted to do the mid point one, but then what am I supposed to say when I am just starting out?

Anyway, feels like time for a snack break. Hmmm… what should it be?

Time: 12:10am

Currently Reading:

Barry Trotter And The Shameless Parody

Barry Trotter And The Shameless Parody
by Michael Gerber

Didn’t like it much when I started, but once I get into it it’s actually quite good. Now well into the book it feels like meeting old friends again. I love seeing “Ermine” back to her brilliant self in the rescue mission. There are some ingenious spoofs: Sniff Powders you buy at Seers, The Ministry of Magical Corrections lands a lucrative contract to use Earth Eaters to chew up rocks into fine sands for Rollin’s beach, Barry almost has his life sucked out of him by Marketors at the publishing firm, and the Trappist monk who tries to catch Barry. Amidst all the silliness and a pretzel-like ending, the author manages to poke fun at the book-to-movie business, and delivers some profound, wise thoughts.

Reading Location:On the bed in the guest bedroom (hubby is sleeping in bed)

Total Pages read so far: 224

Smile or Die: pg 1 – 26
The Valleys of the Assassins: pg 232 – 292
Barry Trotter And The Shameless Parody pg 62-197

Total Time spent reading so far: 3 hr 40 min
3:30pm – 3:50pm Smile or Die: pg 1 – 26 (audio CD while driving)
5:00pm – 5:10pm The Valleys of the Assassins: pg 232 – 242
(visit friends’ blogs, play online games…)
5:50pm – 6:30pm The Valleys of the Assassins: pg 242 – 292
9:30pm – 12:00pm Barry Trotter And The Shameless Parody pg 62-197

Other Readers I have visited and Cheered on:
Noumena
Dancing-Dog
shaunesay
mhs160
mhs160
Kanaye44
Elsi

Books I have munched on:

Smile or Die
Smile or Die: How Positive Thinking Fooled America and the World by Barbara Ehrenreich

Books I have finished:

The Valleys of the Assassins
The Valleys of the Assassins: and Other Persian Travels
by Freya Stark

Published in: on April 10, 2011 at 12:21 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://azukibc.wordpress.com/2011/04/10/525/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I don’t think I got to do my official cheer for you either, so here is my poem I wrote for today!

    Cover to Cover
    And Coast to Coast
    Across the Oceans
    We’ve been brought together
    By what we love the most!
    Let’s hear it for the readers!

    You’re doing great, keep it up!

  2. Seems like I hear most often from authors during read-a-thons.

    I got a tweet from the author of Barry Trotter!

    mgerber937 Michael Gerber
    “@CrystalSP Hope you liked my #BarryTrotter! Writing a parody is a really fun way to “live” in a fictional world, and JKR’s is so great.”

    “Thanks, @crystalSP! I am always so glad when someone enjoys my books–the BEST part of writing is a tweet like yours. G’night!”

    “Thanks @mgerber937 The best part of reading is a wonderful book, but hearing from the author is the ICING!”


Leave a Reply

