Read-a-thon: Finale

Hubby is up so instead of a last rush, ended up having breakfast with him. Managed a little start on In the Miso Soup. Will go get a nap now!! zzz

End of Event Meme
1. Which hour was most daunting for you?
I had a late start because I worked in the day, so when everybody is getting tired at hour 9, I just got home from work and all eager to begin and catch up. I also spent half an hour on my exercise machine, while listening to audio book, to pump more oxygen into me and kept me up. All in all, it went pretty good. At hour 22 I did panic a bit looking at that big pile of “books I want to read” and realizing there’s no chance I could get to then. But it wasn’t “daunting”.

2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?
The Secret Life of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom series is quite good for that purpose. Christopher Moore’s books are good too, as a fast pageturner and full of humorous punchlines. James Patterson’s stuff too, I like the Max Ride series.

3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?
More prizes and lucky draws?
More interaction among readers?

4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?
Overall it went pretty well.
Enjoyed the mini-challenges.

5. How many books did you read?
Touched 7 books. Completely read from cover to cover 1, finished off 3 that I started before the thon, started two but didn’t finish.

6. What were the names of the books you read?
Oranges are Not the Only Fruit
The Host
The Art of Living
The Accidental Explorer
Doomed Queen Anne
Up at the Villa: Travels with My Husband
In the Miso Soup

7. Which book did you enjoy most?
The Art of Living. Yeah, I know, it’s an unusual choice, but it’s one that while I read it I felt something stirred in my heart and my life changin, I am keeping this as PC.

8. Which did you enjoy least?
Doomed Queen Anne.

9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?

10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?
Definitely will participate in the future, though not sure about next April due to work and travel.
I would like to donate something or maybe host a mini-challenge.
A mini-challenge idea just sprang up: use the title of the book you’re reading to start a sentence and write a mini story?

Anyway, it was fun. It helped too that I have a group of friends doing it together.

Time: 8:15 am

Next up:
Go get some sleep!

Reading Location: Sitting in the kitchen as I brew my tea: Octavia Lemongrass Oolong.

Total Pages read so far: 829

Oranges are Not the Only Fruits: pg 1 – 171
The Host: pg 69 – 91
The Art of Living: pg 57 – 246
The Accidental Explorer: pg 25 – 225
Doomed Queen Anne: pg 1 – 107
Up at the Villa: Travels with My Husband: pg 71 – 177
In the Miso Soup: pg 1 – 26

Total Time spent reading so far: 10.81 hr
2:00pm – 2:45pm Oranges are Not the Only Fruits: pg 1 – 50
4:15pm – 4:45pm The Host: pg 69 – 80
5:00pm – 7:08pm Oranges are Not the Only Fruits: pg 51 – 171
8:00pm – 9:45pm The Art of Living: pg 57 – 246
10:15pm – 10:45pm The Host pg 81-91
12:00am – 1:40am The Accidental Explorer pg 25-131
1:45am – 2:45am Doomed Queen Anne pg 1 – 107
2:46am – 3:00am The Accidental Explorer pg 132 -146
5:10am – 6:00am Up at the Villa: Travels with My Husband pg 71 – 177
6:15am – 7:30am The Accidental Explorer pg 147 – 225
7:30am – 7:45am In the Miso Soup pg 1 – 26

Other Readers I have visited and Cheered on:
VeganMedusa
Noumena
Dancing-Dog
shaunesay
candieb
Kanaye
YA Ethuasiast
The Brain Lair

Books I have munched on:

The Host by Stephanie Meyer

Doomed Queen Anne by Carolyn Meyer

In the Miso Soup by Ryu Murakami

Books I have finished:

Oranges are Not the Only Fruit by Jeanette Winterson
3 hr 15 min

The Art of Living: Vipassana Meditation by William Hart
Page 57-246 (1 hr 45 min)

Up at the Villa: Travels with My Husband by Linda Dini Jenkins
Page 71 – 177 (50 min)

The Accidental Explorer by Sherry Simpson
Page 25 -225 (3 hr 20 min)

Published in: on October 10, 2010 at 8:24 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://azukibc.wordpress.com/2010/10/10/read-a-thon-finale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. WooHoo! Congrats on finishing it out! I had a great time this year, this was my first!


Leave a Reply

