Read-a-thon Hour 14

I was totally surprised how fast I read The Art of Living. I guess I am familiar with some of the ideas so I somewhat breezed through part of it.

I got this book about a year and a half ago. I found out that the organization who printed this book hosts ten day meditation retreats. The retreats are free, board and food donated by ex-participants. When I read that participants cannot read or speak in the ten days of the retreat, my reaction was, no way, ten days without books? My husband’s was more along the line he’d die without speaking for ten days.

Somehow I read part of the book and put it aside. Then a few weeks ago I read Holy Cow! and this retreat was mentioned by the author. I decided to make this book part of my target book for the thon. Really glad I did. I am sure I will keep my copy as PC and re-read it again and again.

Hopefully one day I will get to go to the retreat too.

Time: 9:51pm

Next up:

The Host by Stephanie Meyer

Will go on my exercise machine and listen to this on audio book.

Reading Location: Spent a bit of time on the sofa on the belly, then back to the papasan.

Total Pages read so far: 374

Oranges are Not the Only Fruits: pg 1 – 171
The Host: pg 69 – 80
The Art of Living: pg 57 – 246

Total Time spent reading so far: 5 hr
2:00pm – 2:45pm Oranges are Not the Only Fruits: pg 1 – 50
4:15pm – 4:45pm The Host: pg 69 – 80
5:00pm – 7:08pm Oranges are Not the Only Fruits: pg 51 – 171
8:00pm – 9:45pm The Art of Living: pg 57 – 246

Other Readers I have visited and Cheered on:
VeganMedusa
Noumena
Dancing-Dog
shaunesay
candieb
Kanaye

Books I have munched on:

The Host by Stephanie Meyer

Books I have finished:


Oranges are Not the Only Fruit by Jeanette Winterson

3 hr 15 min

The Art of Living: Vipassana Meditation by William Hart
Page 57-246 (1 hr 45 min)

Published in: on October 9, 2010 at 9:57 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://azukibc.wordpress.com/2010/10/09/read-a-thon-hour-14/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog! Glad to see you are still going strong!

  2. Oohh.. I LOVED The Host – so much better than the other crap she wrote. Really, it’s GREAT


Leave a Reply

