Wesley the Owl: The Remarkable Love Story of an Owl and His Girl

by Stacey O’Brien

I admit I am an animal lover, so any book about animals will touch a soft spot in my heart, and give my tear ducts a good flush.

Five minutes into reading the book, I was like, I want an owl!! I want my own baby owl to pamper and cuddle. A few more minutes and I was like, I wish I had become a biologist!! Why didn’t I want to be a biologist when I was a kid? Took me a few more minutes to remember that the reason I didn’t pick biology was that I love animals too much to be dissecting them. That was at a less enlightened time and place, unlike today when more students voice their objection to dissecting animals and animal experiments, and are given alternatives.

O’Brien was a student researcher at Caltech, and when an injured four-day-old barn owl was found, and it was determined that he could not survive in the wild, the young girl adopted him. She cared for him, and forged a deep relationship with the at-times wild, at-times adorable bird. Her observation provided valuable scientific information about owls, and the tidbits about weird biologists and animal trivia make it an even more captivating read. What makes this outstanding though, was the abundance of love between a bird and his human: the commitment and sacrifice the author made for the owl, and the owl’s love and trust in return.

Like Marley and Me, it has plenty of funny moments, and some sad ones that make me cry. Totally heart warming, one of the best books I’ve read this year.

Published in: on October 5, 2010 at 2:50 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://azukibc.wordpress.com/2010/10/05/wesley-the-owl-the-remarkable-love-story-of-an-owl-and-his-girl/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I have this book on my wishlist but your review has made me want to read it even more.


Leave a Reply

